Behind The Name | Please Don’t Think I’m Better Than I Am

After last week’s post about walking in integrity, I felt like I needed to make sure I clarify something, both for your sake and mine.

I am not a cool person. Haha. I am not a perfect Mom by any stretch of the imagination. I do not have it all together. I’m not even sure where it all is…

Anything I write is nearly always an attempt to internalize it myself. I share it publicly, because I hope it might help someone else, too. In fact, the morning I shared this post, I had started the day out in overwhelmed tears and ended up back in bed for some more sleep while Kip took care of the babies. Haha. So, please, do not believe that anything I write is out of some higher state of holiness. In fact, it’s usually more like the exact opposite.

Behind The Name

I sort of panned Real Small Life out of a river of thoughts about what I wanted my life to reflect and what I want to say, all while giving an honest picture of what our lives actually look like. It started with a perspective of smallness (little people, little toys, little chores), and I found currents pulling me more toward this concept.

real life mom of littlesREAL

I follow a lot of really beautiful blogs and Instagram feeds, but the types of lives I see are not something I am able to replicate. Haha. There is nothing wrong with a perfectly beautiful home or being impeccably dressed every day, and I’m not mad at them for it! Well, most days. 😉 I initially struggled with the idea of starting a blog, because I feared the temptation to try to make my life look prettier than it is. I decided if I was going to write and share our lives with the internet populous, I was going to be honest. And, if we’re being honest, I really wish my home and life was as organized and beautiful as some of the ones on the blogs I read. And it’s something I’m working toward. But I also won’t pretend that Sam doesn’t wear clothes most days in the Summer, and that any time you read my words there is a 98% chance of dirty dishes in my sink.

While I share all this for the sake of honesty, I also want to say that my goal is to move through these struggles well, not to commiserate and host pity parties. I want to press on toward eternal reward, not remain in my mess. “It’s okay to be where you are, it’s just not okay to stay there.”

real life mom SMALL

I happen to think there is little recognition of the value of a “small” life – at least on the scale of what the general public values. Many of us (myself included) tend to want to be loud, make a big splash, chase big dreams, do something people notice. But the small things, those are what make us who we are. Who we are in private is who we really are. And, we see time and time again, the Lord values the meek. The world doesn’t. I believe this dichotomy has what has lead popular culture to devalue Motherhood, or more specifically, Mothers whose sole job is raising children at home. It is thankless work that is difficult to quantify. Most of the time life with little people is moving from one small task to the next: wake up, eat breakfast, put the toddler on the potty, change the baby’s diaper, wash the dishes, stop washing dishes to correct behavior, read the baby a book, put the books away, remember you were in the middle of dishes, but now it’s time for lunch… and on, and on the days go… Long days full of the small things required to take care of small people. Work that will echo in eternity, but no one is bound to notice here.

“…and to aspire to live quietly, and to mind your own affairs, and to work with your hands, as we instructed you,” (1 Thessalonians 4:11)

“He who is faithful in a very little thing is faithful also in much; and he who is unrighteous in a very little thing is unrighteous also in much.” -Luke 16:10real small lifeLIFE

This is us as we are. Our real life. We only get one shot at this, and we want to do it well. We are learning, but we are totally fallen and imperfect. God’s word is final, not mine, and I pray that no person ever comes away from my words without first checking them with Scripture.

I’m not sure where our path will lead, but I am grateful to have this space to write, to grow, and to connect with others. Being able to look back on past posts and recall memories I had completely forgotten has been such a gift to my Mama heart. I also believe we are intended to live life with and for each other, and I have been so happy to have found friends here and connected with people I might not have met otherwise.

So, that’s me. That’s us. And if that sounds kind of like you too, I hope you’ll connect with me as we learn together.

Love always,
H

4 thoughts on “Behind The Name | Please Don’t Think I’m Better Than I Am

  1. This was so refreshing to read. It’s kind of funny you mention how other blogs are beautiful and that you wish your house and life was as put together as theirs, when it’s your blog I feel this way about. The “real” and “small” aspect of your writings is exactly why I enjoy it so much. Not to mention all the adorable pictures of your babies! I look forward to being able to take as many pictures of my children and come to all the realizations and faith that you have. Thanks for your blog.

    Like

    • Oh Dayla! I wish I could have you over and we could make THM treats and you could actually see what it’s like here. 😂 I want to be honest, but also not “air our dirty laundry”… And by that I mean post pictures with our dirty laundry in the background. 😂 I just read your “About Me” page, and your story sounds so similar to ours! I’m on my phone now, but I can’t wait to get to a computer so I can read more! ❤️

      Like

  2. Hey there! You liked something on my Instagram and I decided to come look at your blog! I loved reading this post and can’t wait to go back and read more. I think we have similar philosophies on blogging, and motherhood in general.

    Sweet to meet you,
    Kellie

    Like

  3. One thing I love about you is that you don’t confuse the quest for truth and love with an end destination. Soren Kierkegaard wrote some of the most beautiful thoughts on Christianity. One of my favorites is that he compared Christianity to an actual journey, like a trip to a specific location, and that after 10 miles, we cannot possible think that we arrived when we are 5,000 miles away. You are not one to setup camp on the 10 mile mark.

    Like

Leave a Reply

