IKEA TUPPLER Blackout Roller Blind REVIEW | A Mom’s Perspective

This is a completely unsolicited review of our IKEA blackout shades. I just really love them and thought you might, too! ❤ 

It’s been a couple months since we moved into a cute little old house in our hometown, and I have to say: I’m still in love with it. Really. I would buy it if I could. I love the street it’s on, I love the part of town it’s in, I love the huge trees in the yard, I love the layout. (Did I say that I love it yet?) Sure, if it were ours I would change a few things, but for a rental, this is hands down my favorite place we’ve ever lived.

IKEA TUPPLER Block-out Roller Blind Review

What I don’t love, though? The transition for my kids. The move was so, so hard on them for the first 4-6 weeks, which resulted in terrible sleep patterns. Their room (that they share) is very different than they are used to. It’s smaller, it has wood floors (which means it’s echo-y and you can hear everyone’s footsteps), and it’s bright. The natural light is super fun for playtime, but not awesome for naps and summer bedtimes when the sun is still up. I was also feeling majorly paranoid about Samuel’s crib being next to two windows with long blind cords. Maaajor safety hazard! Even though I put the cord out of his reach, he can still easily touch the actual blinds. I just knew somehow he’d figure out a way to hurt himself. I’m learning boys are good at that.

Anyways, insert: the IKEA TUPPLUR Block-out roller blinds. I had my eye on them for a while, but we didn’t need them in their room at our old place, so I didn’t bother. Once I knew we were moving here, and that I would need to find light-blocking window treatments for two windows in one room, I knew I wanted the IKEA blackout shades. We’ve had them up for about 3 days, and so far, so good! They are not exactly what I expected, but all-in-all, I’m glad we bought them.

These are definitely affordable black out curtains, with prices starting at $14.99 per shade. Depending on the length you need, the price can vary. Ours were $20 each. The cool thing is, you can cut shades to whatever width you need for your window. You’ll need a saw to get through the pole, though – so be prepared!

As with any IKEA item, installation took a bit of time and marriage counseling. The blackout roller shade replaces mini-blinds, unlike light blocking curtains that just cover them. So, removing the old mini-blinds (in two windows), installing the hardware, cutting the IKEA shades to proper length, and installing them in the window frame took a little over an hour for Kip to do. He so sweetly did this in the middle of his day for me, but I don’t think either of us anticipated it taking that long. Oops. But! I love that I don’t worry about dangerous blind cords anymore. It’s a load off my mind, and just one more way my babies’ room is a safe place for them to play.

Ikea blackout shades review
IKEA TUPPLER blinds review
The Ikea blackout roller shades are effective at blocking light. One point for them! However, because the shade is installed inside the window frame, light comes in around it. Boo. I had hoped to simply hang these in the windows and have the room be totally dark, but that’s not the case. I realize now I should still hang some curtains to block the light that comes in through the edges of the window. Not a big deal, because I don’t anticipate needing expensive blackout curtain panels, just something cutesy to cover the edges of the window frame. And, like I said – no dangerous cords = all the points to IKEA!

Haha, and I’ll share this, in case it saves anyone else some time and frustration: I did try to buy the cheap ($12?) block out panel things at Walmart, thinking they were the same as the IKEA ones. Neeerrrrp. They roll down and cover the window, but they don’t roll back up when you want to see some sunshine. Zero points for Walmart. Skip those if you want the option to let some light in every once in a while. 🙂 Also, I just found this adorable idea to make these black out shades more personalized by adding fabric. Duh! So cute!  

So, heads up Moms! If you need black out shades, I would definitely recommend the IKEA TUPPLUR Block-Out Roller Blind. They are baby-safe, affordable, and super cute!

10 thoughts on “IKEA TUPPLER Blackout Roller Blind REVIEW | A Mom’s Perspective

    • Hi Stephanie! Sometimes ours are a little finicky… we always joke that you “have to hold your mouth right” to get them to work. 🙂 To roll them up, ours have to be quickly tugged down, and they they roll up on their own. It seems there’s a trick to these types of shades. I hope they work out for you!

      Like

      • Hi Hannah,
        Tks for sharing your blessings!!
        My advise… continue to save, pinch and be frugal…. No matter how difficult…. So you can buy that lovely house or another one down the road!! Hope you have Goodwill or similar in your area…. Great deals… 99cent clothing on Sundays👍 😉.
        Ok… My advise on Tupplur blind…
        The brackets are for inside, outside or even ceiling mount. I can see why hubby mounted inside due to molding but probably should’ve been more snug!! Ok.. too late since they were cut. I do suggest mounting inexpensive but solid panel curtains on each side (avoid floor length for children’s safety)…. Should block brightness and hopefully hubby can remount shade HIGHER at least??? An additional valance could also work if not possible. In the event you want to attach ANYTHING to the shade sides… You need to be careful not to prevent shade functioning from tricky retracting. Check at fabric store what would be suitable. May even take 1 shade w/you since different material dept. I see this years model shows a lil pullup handle. Check with Ikea also… Very generous on free spare parts, especially safety issues. Ensure they weren’t RECALLED!! Last but not least… There is a window film on the market in different shades for reducing glare and brightness… I found some 2nd hand…. Really works wonders if
        you adhere properly.
        Sun is great but highly damaging to linens, furniture etc. … And lil ones skin also needs to be protected even indoors. (Skin cancer survivor)
        Btw…. You and your Children are so adorable… beautiful room and quilt!! Enjoy your family and Mommy-days to the fullest! Life is way too short and parenting is the most important job on earth!! 😍
        👍For hubby Kip!!
        God bless and the best to all of you!😇😇😇😇

        Like

    • We had these in our last house that we sold a couple of months ago. We could’t get them to roll up, ever. I wonder now if they needed the spring manually adjusted like other roller blinds. If the spring is loose they wont roll. I don’t remember now if winding the spring was even a possibility as we don’t live there anymore for me to look at. We are about to buy an new house and I was thinking again of buying more of these but I really want them to work properly. It makes me so nervous after our bad luck with them before. I love how they are not vinyl like most other black out roller shades…

      Like

  1. Hi Hannah,
    Tks for sharing your blessings!!
    My advise… continue to save, pinch and be frugal…. No matter how difficult…. So you can buy that lovely house or another one down the road!! Hope you have Goodwill or similar in your area…. Great deals… 99cent clothing on Sundays👍 😉.
    Ok… My advise on Tupplur blind…
    The brackets are for inside, outside or even ceiling mount. I can see why hubby mounted inside due to molding but probably should’ve been more snug!! Ok.. too late since they were cut. I do suggest mounting inexpensive but solid panel curtains on each side (avoid floor length for children’s safety)…. Should block brightness and hopefully hubby can remount shade HIGHER at least??? An additional valance could also work if not possible. In the event you want to attach ANYTHING to the shade sides… You need to be careful not to prevent shade functioning from tricky rolling up. Check at fabric store. I see this years model shows a lil pullup handle. Check with Ikea also… Very generous on free spare parts, especially safety issues. Last but not least… There is a window film on the market in different shades for reducing glare and brightness… I found some 2nd hand…. Really works wonders if
    you adhere properly.
    Sun is great but highly damaging to linens, furniture etc. … And lil ones skin also needs to be protected even indoors. (Skin cancer survivor)
    Btw…. You and your Children are so adorable… beautiful room and quilt!! Enjoy your family and Mommy-days to the fullest! Life is way too short! 👍For hubby!!
    God bless 😇

    Like

  2. Pingback: Favorite Options for Ikea Blackout Blinds | HomesFeed

  3. If my window is 28 1/4″ do I buy the 27″, I thought I saw in the instructions about cutting it down 1 1/4″ smaller than the window but wasn’t sure if that was already adjusted in the order size. Or do I need to order the size up 30″ and cut down? I worry about cutting the blind as I’m afraid I’ll mess it up and not be a clean straight cut.

    Like

    • Hi! I would definitely size up to be safe. 🙂 If I had to do it again, I would have mounted the blinds outside the window instead of inside, to block that sun that comes in around the edges. It’s possible to get a good, clean cut if you have a good saw and/or very sharp scissors. Ours was, admittedly, a bit of a hack job. Haha. But they still looked fine! I hope that’s helpful!

      Like

Leave a Reply

