All About Sam: Year One

I’m taking a page straight out of my sister’s book today, and sharing all about our Sammy Stone, since he just turned one last week! This is an update for those who don’t care to read birth stories. 😉

IMG_5391

Samuel Stonewall Staton… SSS, Samuel, Sammy, Sammy-Stone… or just plain ol’ Sam. Basically any form of his name is acceptable, and he seems to answer to them all. So, call him whatever you want… he’ll probably give you a huge smile and “look at me” laugh no matter what.

Sam’s favorite things include: his Mama, his Daddy, his Sissy… stealing Rosie’s sippy-cups even when he has his own, playing peek-a-boo, sucking his thumb & cuddling with his orange blanket (which was his Daddy’s baby blanket!), chasing my parents’ dog, eating pretty much anything as long as it isn’t green, and playing outside.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

He is standing and walking pretty well now! He still crawls a lot because it’s more efficient 😉 but he can walk entirely across the room if he wants to. He has also recently revealed a serious love to dance. And when I say dance, I mean BOOTY dance. It is hilarious and makes me do my embarrassingly loud horse-laugh every time. Every. Time.
Processed with VSCOcam with t1 presetHe didn’t get his first two bottom teeth until he was 10 months old, and now at 12 months old has popped one top tooth. 🙂 I loved that he had that baby-ish gummy grin for so long, but he sure is cute with teeth, too!

He loves to give kisses. You know, the open mouth, pretty much just licking your face ones? He’ll pin Rosie down and kiss her hair, or sneak one on my cheek while I’m holding him. He’s even been known to share kisses with baby cousins, friends of mine, or the iPhone screen while we FaceTime with his Nana.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

In just the last week or two, Sammy has started repeating a few words, and he seems to be learning more really quickly! At the time of this posting, he can say, “Mama”, “Dada”, “ball”, “bath”, “hi!”, and “bye”. He also puts his hand up to his face and says, “ahhyewww” (“Where are youuu?”) ❤ ❤ ❤

He’s loud and busy. He stopped nursing around 10 months old, mostly because I could not get him to just slow down long enough to nurse. Haha. He’s taken formula from a bottle since then, and started sleeping through the night around then too. (Please don’t hate me.) He’s quickly moving onto sippy cups, mainly due to the fore-mentioned sippy-cup thievery.

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

Sam is basically just the sweetest ever. He’s known to crawl over to me just for a quick cuddle, then he’s back to his playing or chasing Rosie. The fact that he still cuddles with me and will sleep on me earns him all the heart eyes emojis. All of them. He hardly has a bad day, and everything (as long as Mama is nearby) is just the best thing that’s ever happened to him. He gives the best chuckles and smiles, most of the time with his tongue sticking out the side of his mouth.

To be honest, before he was born, I was so nervous about having a boy. I can understand girls, but in my mind boys are literally from another planet. But oh, all my nerves melted into mush when I first held this baby. He holds such a special place in my heart that only a son could. I am so humbled and grateful that I have gotten to spend this year being his Mama, and I pray every night for many more.

IMG_6098

I love you, sweet Sammy Stone!

Leave a Reply

