Trim Healthy Mama During Pregnancy | Trim Healthy Mama Review

trim healthy mama pregnancy and nursing

If you’re wondering if starting Trim Healthy Mama halfway into your pregnancy can make a difference, I am here to tell you: absolutely, yes!Β 

I began reading and implementing THM about halfway through my second pregnancy. Before I began implementing the “plan”, I was gaining weight pretty rapidly (more than 1lb per week, even early on) mostly due to a combination of nausea and a lot of emotional eating. Having a teething 7 month old and a bun in the oven can do that! Lots of pasta, sweets, and easy comfort foods were on deck for me, and it all stuck to me like crazy.

THM centers around eating plenty of protein, healthy fats (coconut oil, olive oil, real butter), wholesome carbohydrates (root veggies, sprouted grains), fresh veggies, and learning to replace sugary treats with deceivingly toothsome desserts made with healthy ingredients that do not spike your blood sugar. The recipes in this book are chock full of nutrients such as Omega-3‘s, lauric acid, vitamin C, protein, and folic acid, all of which are necessary for pregnant mamas and the little ones developing inside.

When I began to change my eating habits in accordance with THM’s suggestions, my weight gain slowed down significantly – 1lb or less per week – while baby continued to measure at a healthy size. If you’ve ever wondered how to have more energy during pregnancy, this is the way to do it! I felt great. I felt satisfied with my diet and encouraged at each check up when my midwife was pleased with my healthy weight gain. (Is Trim Healthy Mama safe during pregnancy?) I still splurged on the occasional Chick-fil-A or Dr Pepper, but for the most part I really stuck to THM guidelines for several weeks. I truly believe these months of healthy eating are what kept me from gaining too much in the end!

However, I ended up getting totally derailed. I think that happened sometime around the last 6 weeks… around Rosie’s first birthday party. SO MUCH LEFTOVER CAKE. Haha. But really, when I look back on photos of myself during those last 2 months, I can’t believe how big I was. I can very obviously see the weight in my face and hips. I mean, I know I was pregnant, but still! I did my best to eat well, but I wasn’t 100% committed…. and it showed. So like I said, if you’re reading this half way through your pregnancy, and wondering if changing your diet now will help at all? Let me just say, from my experience… in all caps… YES.

trim healthy mama during pregnancy

On my due date. Oy. Rosie had a nice little seat there, haha!

At the end of my pregnancy at 41.5 weeks, I had gained between 35-40 pounds. While that is technically within a healthy range for me, it is more than I believe I should have gained, which I credit to that last stretch of impatience and more emotional eating. Can you tell that’s a big weakness for me? Now that I’ve had more practice with THM while breastfeeding over the last year, I honestly believe that if we are given another baby, I will gain an even healthier (read: smaller ;)) amount of weight by eating this way.

Thankfully, my sweet baby boy arrived healthy as can be, and following Trim Healthy Mama while breastfeeding has swiftly transferred all those extra pounds from me to him. πŸ˜‰

trim healthy mama while nursing

2 weeks & 10 months post partum!

Β 

If you have questions about a healthy diet during pregnancy, or how to lose weight while breastfeeding, I’d love to help if I can! Shoot me an email. I’d love to chat! Also check out THM’s FAQ’s here.

3 thoughts on “Trim Healthy Mama During Pregnancy | Trim Healthy Mama Review

  1. Thanks so much for this post! I just dove into the new THM book and started implementing a few days ago and I’m about halfway thru my 6th pregnancy. I always gain way too much weight during pregnancy, and had about 10-15 lbs too many before this one started anyway, and I’m hopeful with THM I can keep the weight gain under control and get it off efficiently once baby’s born. I’ve been searching for reviews/results of mamas who’ve started mid-pregnancy and yours is the only one I’ve found.

    How did you balance E, S, FP, and XO meals while you were pregnant?

    Like

Leave a Reply

