Dear Rosebud, [Happy First Birthday]

Tomorrow morning at 2:05 AM, my baby will be 1 year old.

1 Year ago today, I sat on a big pink exercise ball, talking with my Mom, sister, and husband, as labor slowly progressed throughout the day. I thought she’d be born on the 27th and share a day with her Auntie Heather. But no, she had something else in mind. In the wee hours of the morning on January 28th, 2013, our Rosemary baby was born and now shares a birthday with my twin Aunts, one of whom I am named after. ๐Ÿ™‚ (As well as our dear friend Justin Lowe, who was there to capture Rosie’s first moments! We love you, J-Lowe!) Read her birth story here.

We celebrated Rosie last weekend, with “just” our immediate family, which is really quite a lot of people… ๐Ÿ™‚ Our house was full and overflowing to the back yard, and Rosie was showered with love and gifts from her family!

Big girl in front of her presents!

Unfortunately, Rosebud was not feeling well that weekend and spent much of her party cuddled on much obliging family members.

My Aunt made Rosie’s cakes and coached me in some cake decorating skills. ๐Ÿ™‚ Also, check out my 30 week belly!

Rosie has lots (I mean LOTS) of cute cousins!

Rosie finally sat down and happily opened her gifts. ๐Ÿ™‚

…and thankfully her bigger cousin was there to help her out! ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

Lots of new clothes โค

Dear Rosebud,

Happy first birthday, dear one. God gave me the happiest gift He could have given last year- you! What better gift to celebrate?

In the last few weeks, you have taken your first few steps, learned to sign “more”, “please”, “eat”, and “milk”. You now have six teeth, a little bit of hair (which is mostly growing into a mullet at this point…), and you love to give Mama and Daddy very wet, slimy kisses. You wave at every car that passes by, and you recently discovered a love for blowing the floaties off the dandelions growing in our yard. You still prefer to crawl, unless someone is holding your hands- then you are ready to walk anywhere and everywhere!

I pray every day for you- for your safety and health, because you have a very paranoid Mama. ๐Ÿ™‚ But I also often pray for your heart as you grow- for your purity, for your future spouse, for the world you will grow up in. Most importantly, I pray that you grow to learn not just about God, but to love Him for who He is. Grow up knowing I am on my knees for you.

We are forever thankful that you are our baby. We have always wanted you and we will always, always love you. In about two months you will have a little brother to play with, and our little world will change for good. I will enjoy every moment we have as “just girls,” until our hearts expand and make room for a little boy in our lives. But for now, for today… it’s just you and Mama and Daddy. Let’s celebrate your first year of life… ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy birthday (tomorrow at 2AM… but I promise not to wake you. ;))!

You are my heart. My truest, closest heart.
We love you so strong.
Mama & Daddy

Leave a Reply

