They Grow Up

This past week or so, I’ve carried a heavy burden.
I’ve felt the stress in the knots in my neck and shoulders.
I’ve literally felt immobilized by the weight of my thoughts.

1,000 different opinions.
1,000 different books.
1,000 different Mama’s telling you 1,000 different things.

Sleep training. Weaning. Breast feeding. Formula. Introducing solids. Let your baby cry herself to sleep. Don’t let your baby cry at all. Don’t give rice cereal. The first food should be rice cereal. Give baby a bottle! Give her a cup! Start weaning now. Breast feed til she graduates college.

To someone who is not a Mother, these things may seem menial. And really, maybe they are. But to a new Mama, sitting in her living room with her fussy baby who is covered in mashed peas and woke up every hour the night before, and many nights before that… these things can weigh heavy on the mind and heart.

This is where I found myself this week. Immobilized by theories, opinions, and a deep desire to do what is best for my little Rosebud.

I sent a long, rambling message to my soul sister who is a missionary in the Amazon  about all my frustrations, and as I typed I realized something about myself and was able to put it into words.

I’ve really learned the last few weeks that I struggle a lot with 1.) fearing people/their opinions, and 2.) I think that my life has to 100% mirror everything I read. Which is lame, because everyone’s opinions are different and every single parenting book/blog/article is different too. The only book I need to mirror 100% is Scripture. I realize that now.

“It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.”  We are free as mothers to take care of our children. This is a gift, not a burden. Galatians 5:1 is referring to a yoke of slavery to sin. But is it not a sin to worry? Many times Scripture tell us, “Do not worry.”   So we ought not worry! Christ loves our children more than we do, and “he gently leads [us] who have young…” He will lead us in the right path for our family.

Here’s the bottom line of it all: they grow up. 

It is and will be my joy to learn from wise mothers and families and doctors, but not to be enslaved to theories or opinions of others. God has equipped us for every good work, including taking care of our babes.

Read. Learn. Observe. But do not submit yourself to a yoke of slavery!

Love,
H

“He who walks with the wise becomes wise. But a companion of fools suffers harm.” -Proverbs 13:20

Leave a Reply

